Month: August 2007


  •  


    August 30th, 2007




    “Let life happen to you. Believe me: life is in the right, always.”


     ~Rainer Mairie Rilke


     


     

  • self portrait challenge

    Self Portrait Challenge


    SPC!

    August Challenge: Self portrait with pattern



     


    Life pattern in progress.


     

  •  


     Another Xangaversary!


    (pass the cake and the beer!)


    ~~~~~


    I cannot believe another blog year has passed so quickly for me!  I look at my older posts and remember that moment; the way I felt while writing.  I am so grateful that I do this, it gives me a chance to examine who I am right now and to re-examine it later.


    And blogging gives me the chance to know YOU and view life through your eyes and hear your voice speaking about your days and I am much richer for it.


    Here are a few of my favorite posts from this year:


     


    Truths


    Trust, Freedom & Letting Go


    Happy Birthday Jesse


    Ernest Borgnine, Eunuchs & Pumpkins


    Another Place & Time: Our Strawbale House


    Happy Birthday Roo


    This Makes Me Far Happier Than It Should


    The Un-prom


    And I Love Him Because


    Self Portrait: April 17


    This is About George


    You Know This, Don’t You?


     


      In browsing through this past year of blogging, I found that my favorite posts came from the first half of the year and not the second.  I think I am not as inspired lately and can see it in my writing, can feel it in my expression.  But I am grateful for knowing this as it speaks to me and tells me “something is changing here”. 


      



     i like living with my eyes open, even though i don’t always understand what i see.


     


     


  •   August


    When the blackberries hang
    swollen in the woods, in the brambles
    nobody owns, I spend

    all day among the high
    branches, reaching
    my ripped arms, thinking

    of nothing, cramming
    the black honey of summer
    into my mouth; all day my body

    accepts what it is. In the dark
    creeks that run by there is
    this thick paw of my life darting among

    the black bells, the leaves; there is
    this happy tongue.


      ~Mary Oliver


     



    sigh.


     

  •  A Revealing Dream


    (a self portrait, of sorts)


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


     Last night, I dreamt I was dying.  In the dream, I had uterine cancer and had 5 weeks to live.


    I cried and cried and cried.


    Then, I sat down with my closest friends and family members and told them one by one.


    “Oh no!”, they said, “What do you need? What can I do?”



     I responded, “Let me take pictures of you so you will have a part of me to keep”


     


     

  •  


    Happy Birthday Trevor!!


    Happy 40th birthday to my partner in all crimes risky, frisky and otherwise.


    You make 40 look divine.



    Every day with you is a gift.



     


     

  •  


    Peas Be With You


    (and other stuff)





    love me tendril, love me true



    peas enjoy roller derby



    I made my first wet/needle felted mitten today



    onions love onions





    brain spew


    ~~~~~


    ~Trevor took the kids for an overnight at camp so i might have some time alone


    ~I am felting, reading, walking in the woods and playing in the garden


    ~ I feel the winds changing today and can smell fall in the air


    ~ I am wishing we had more unschooled free range children to play with, Jesse would really love that once school starts


    ~I am thinking of Trevor’s birthday, he turns 40 on Monday and we are having a little party for him.


    ~ I am thinking in bits and pieces about life and time and love and fear and joy.


    ~I am watching our windmill spin in the breeze and I am grateful.


     


     


     


    The End.


     

  •  


    Every Day, A Gift








     


    “People usually consider walking on water or in thin air a miracle. But I think the real miracle is not to walk either on water or in thin air, but to walk on earth. Every day we are engaged in a miracle which we don’t even recognize: a blue sky, white clouds, green leaves, the black, curious eyes of a child — our own two eyes. All is a miracle”  ~Thich Nhat Hanh


     

  • My Dog Loves To Sing

     


    Lucy, Singing


     


     


    good dog.



     

  •  


    Self Portrait Challenge


    SPC!

    August Challenge: Self portrait with pattern