Month: September 2006

  • Trust, Freedom and Letting Go


    (long)


         Trevor and I have always wanted our children to make as many of their own choices as they reasonably could. 


     We have encouraged them to choose their foods and eating times so that they would learn to listen to their bodies and know what they need. They both weaned when they were ready and we have always made sure their options were fairly healthy and varied.


    We have always let them decide who they want to play with (or not), so they would be in touch with how they really feel about others.


    We have always let them decide when they are tired and where they will sleep and how much.  This has helped them to be happy, rested children who know when they need to have quiet time and sleep.  They sleep through the night, holding on to one of us and sleeping the safe and warm sleep they need.


    We have always encouraged them to dress themselves, regardless of the style/ color co-ordination/ season. This way, they are learning what is comfortable and warm or too cold and what truly suits them.


    We have supported them liking the toys THEY like (whether we think they are garbage, or not).


    Some of these freedoms have been more challenging for T and I than others but we have witnessed our children thriving in this environment and have gained confidence in their ability to know what they want/need.  They trust themselves as we are learning to trust in them.


    But we have had one issue that has been challenging; television.  Trevor and I didn’t want them to watch television when they were little and Jesse never watched any until he was 2.5.  After that, he watched some but only one show at a time and he always had to ask permission.  And this didn’t work; he became somewhat greedy about television and, as a forbidden fruit, it became more and more tempting by the month.  When he was allowed to watch he would beg and beg and beg for more and I would feel so guilty when I allowed him this “freedom”.  It was not working. 


     About 2.5 years ago T and I began talking about this and my heart told me that we should let Jesse decide how much he wanted to watch and when (we would limit his channel options to screen out violent/inappropriate choices).  We discussed this frequently and at length and yet couldn’t bring ourselves to do it.


    What if he watched it all day long?  What if he made the (gasp) wrong choice?


    What if he loved it more than anything in the world and became a professional TV watcher; growing sluggish and pale at the screen, vacant and soft?


    So we decided we just could not let him watch as much as he wanted.


    But Jesse begged and begged and it bothered me deep in my heart; why was I trusting him to make so many other choices in his life and he was doing wonderfully and yet I was afraid of this thing, this TV beast?! 


       About a year ago we finally decided to let go of this and told Jesse it was up to him, he could make the choice.  And he chose TV (truckloads of it), initially. He embraced it and memorized listings and characters and wanted to tell everyone about his deep adoration for the tube.  People on the street would ask him about “homeschooling” and he would say, “oh, it rocks, I watch TV and tons of it”.  And I would blush.  Trevor would groan when he saw it on all day long and try and figure out ways to draw Jesse away from it.  This did not work and Jesse watched it a GREAT DEAL for about 6 months.  Then, just when we were beginning to wonder if this was a permanent commitment, I decided to embrace it. I worked on letting go of my feelings about television and tried to open my eyes to how he was seeing it and the value in it for him. I sat with him and we talked about what he loved to watch; when he went to bed and wanted to discuss dialogue or characters, I would talk about it with him.  At first, I know he thought it was strange that I was embracing it but after a time he got used to it and stopped giving me odd looks at I sat with him.  And I began to realize that it is alright for him to like what he likes.  I love him the same.


    And then his desire to watch it began to fade.


    About 2-3 months ago, he began his days by not turning it on, some days he would even go all day without even thinking about it.  His desire for it waned and he began looking for other things we could do together and talk about.


    Now, he only watches it here and there and not for long; he has learned that the thing is not as exciting as the wanting; the power struggle we had over the TV made it so much more tempting than it needed to be.  And he knows he is loved, either way, so he is free to make the choice he desires.


    I have learned something too; that letting go is the hardest part but the rewards are worth it.



    It’s about trust.


     

  •  (ETA: bottom)


    Blog-O-Rama


    (now chock full-o-hormones)


    Lesson learned; from now on I will save my posts until I am certain they have been posted, last night was not pretty for me.


    Today was more of what you missed yesterday;  an Autumn Olive berry festival held right here in the kitchen. 


    Featuring 13 Gallons of the fruit!!


    Jam will be dispensed at the holidays.



    I am making gifts for everyone in my family this year and made this felted basket for my mother. I will fill it with canned goods and homemade soap, knitted washcloths, etc  (it is about 16” tall and about 12-14” across).



    I take pictures of my new yarn because it pleases me.



    There is milkweed all over the house


    the pods migrate indoors in child-sized pockets only to explode upon hitting the rug/bed/dog.


    fun stuff but not tasty in jam.



    Summer lingers in these…




    Brain Dump:




    • next year’s wood needs stacking


    • Jesse wants to make some gnome homes and we should gather bits in the woods while the weather is nice. Here is a website with some ideas but beware the overly gnome-ish music. 


    • my mother is a fill-in cook for these people on this boat and I have a chance to go with her and cook on the vessel this Fri and Sat, wahoo!!

    Historic photo kids on the Sunbeam deck



    • my toes are freezing

    • it is 5:30 and looks like the kids can have either jam with a spoon for dinner or cereal.  Wonder what they will choose.

    • I feel boring, blah, slow.

      I’m sure things will start looking up around the 35th pint of jam I can this evening, right?   


     O.K, this video of my Mum and Step-Dad at the fair will cheer me up


     you can thank lostcheerio for inspiration 


      


    carry on…


  • Dear Xanga,


        For the love of Pete, why do you lose my posts?  I am a hormonally challenged , deranged woman and just used my last bit of patience typing out a post and it appears that you have consumed it. 


      Cough it up, you demon spawn.


           eternally yours,


                kisses, Julie  

  • Candy Corn, Siren of The Dark Side


    (or:”damn, these are good”)


    Yes, candy corn is here again and I will spend the next month alternating between FULLY heeding the call and ignoring it.


    I do love the stuff.  Incidentally, I must eat them color by color, starting with the tippy tip.  Am I the only neurotic one out there?


    The Fair


    I went back again today, alone.  I went because I had so little time to peruse all the goodness on Fri as our focus was on the kids.  The kids were not interested in the herbal tent or the healing arts or political action tent and so I went by myself.


    My stepfather and mother were singing  (well, mostly he and a friend but she joined him on a song) and they were pretty cute.


    My Mum



    My step-dad



    It rained.  It rained ever-loving BUCKETS and I spent two hours in it looking at wooden things and herbal remedies and felted creatures. 


    I got wet.



    Here is some of the wool hand-spun yarn I bought at $4.00 a skein!!


    A winter’s worth, for sure.



    I came home to the sight of my children trying on their winter wear


    (Trev was encouraging them to see what fits)



    Tonight


    Tomatoes are on the stove in the form of spaghetti/pizza sauce and I will be canning into the night.  But in February when the winds whip and the outside world is blissfully white we will be eating these feasts of summer. And I will be very glad.


    I like being glad, glad is good.


     


     

  •  


    There Were Six in the Bed & the Little One Said,


    “Roll over, Jesse!”


    Yes, there are six bodies in our bed, two of them canine and four of them human.  We have a visitor for a few weeks, Lucy’s very best dogmate Duncan!



    It is a wee bit crowded but they are good snugglers and everyone manages to find a spot (although Trevor has been found at the foot of the bed a few times)


    ~~~~~~


    Today has been another day for canning; I have canned pear halves and pear sauce.


    Tomorrow, I will can pear nectar.


    Simmering pears.



    Want to encourage your children to peel and core and slice apples for you, happily?


    Get one of these! I picked it up last week at our local hardware store when Jesse fell to his knees in the hopes I would buy it (seriously). 


    Today we made apple pie



    ~~~~~~~


    Jesse took these photos at the fair yesterday


    1st self-portrait



    Roo, with mummy’s hair in background



    As I sit here, I can hear the sounds of my husband reading stories to our tired children who asked to go to bed at the same time as they both hear twice the stories that way.  Bedtime is loose here, and gentle.  They go when they want and how they want (although toothbrushing is strongly suggested/recommended).  And it usually goes well; they love knowing this is not a struggle or game, it is a choice.


    I like having choices, as well.


    ~~~~~~~


    May I ramble a bit?


    About Roo?


    She is a talker.  She has a great deal to say and there is so little time in the day for her to say it all and so she spits it out, rapid-fire.  She is a delight, a gem among gems, my sweet and fragrant peach, my little pinon nut.


    She is my dreamy girl.


    But she has more words to spill than my brain can absorb.


    And sometimes, I get overwhelmed and go on automatic. The little buzzer in my brain, (the one that provides overload alerts), goes beeeeeeeeeep and I hear very little.


    This makes me feel very guilty but what can you do?  I am highly sensitive and this bounty of conversation overwhelms me.  I am brimming and spilling over and I freeze up.  An example:


    Roo: (upon waking, when I am at my most vacant and cranky)


    “Mummy, are you awake? What did you dream about and where is my dolly and remember that story we read last night?  Are we going to the fair again today? No?Then we are going to Mimi’s and will she take me out in the boat to see the loons and later eat marshmellows and touch the buoy, do you want to touch the buoy?  Well, if we can’t go to Mimi’s then where are we going and can I have some eggs with  ketchup and some chocolate chips on the side?”


    “Mummy? Mummy? Can I, Mummy?”


    Me: “um, yes darlin’, yes you can have some eggs”


    This is challenging for me and I am wondering how to be less overwhelmed and how to find the balance between listening to her truly and still remain centered, and calm.


    How is this done?


    (maple syrup will be shipped to anyone who solves this dilemma)



    Sweet Dreams.


     


     

  • No frost but everything is safe inside



    (and we went to THE FAIR!!)


    The Common Ground Country Fair!


    We saw spinning, candlemaking, blacksmithing, weaving, carding, felting, cooking, shoveling manure, stoneworking, a garden parade and carving.


    We danced and worked with clay and tried spinning and ate incredible edibles made from 100% Maine grown organic foods.


    We listened to music and came home with apples, knitting needles and way too much handspun yarn.


    And we saw good friends, many of whom we see every year at THE FAIR.


    Today was perfect.


    I hope your day was wonderful, as well.


     


     

  • A Nippy Little Blog


    I am watching the thermometer outside and it has been dropping by the hour.  It was 41 degrees at 7:30 and it is now 36 at 9:40 PM.


    Shiver me timbers, I think our first frost is on the way.


    Shoot, I am in my jammies.


    It appears I am off for a flashlight, some boots and my down jacket to go harvest a few hundred tomatoes and a wheelbarrow full of peppers, eggplant, cukes, etc in the dark hours.


    It won’t be pretty but it will get done.


    If you come over in an hour, I’ll have cocoa on…



     

  •  


     (very)Rambling Thoughts


    On:




    • How to live cleanly


    • How to live the most self-sustainable life


    • Finding more ways to be frugal


    • Figuring out how to simplify our wants


    • Figuring out the true cost of The Thing


    • Having the means to obtain the few, truest things we desire

    We do what we can but there are days when I think it just isn’t enough; when the styrofoam is in the garbage because we cannot recycle it (and should not have bought it in the first place) or when we fill our propane tank with gas or when we run one errand here and there instead of doing them all at once and saving fuel.


    Here is what we do:



    • we recycle everything we can

    • we try and buy things with the least packaging, in bulk or bring our own containers in for refills

    • we use cloth for everything we can, dishtowels, pads, etc 

    • we cut our own wood and plan on using our land in a way that is sustainable and gentle

    • we are growing as much of our own food as possible and are bartering for some of the things we cannot yet grow like beef, chicken, milk (we plan on having chickens, sheep and goats in a few years but need more $, first)

    • we buy organically and locally first (60-70% of our food comes from Maine)

    • we are working on getting a grant for wind power and replacing our furnace with one that is WAY more efficient

    • we are insulating as much of the house as we can afford

    • we buy used clothing and trade with friends/family and I hope to make more and more of it

    • our gift giving is homemade whenever the recipient will use and enjoy it

    • we have replaced all bulbs with compact fluorescents

    • the few cleaners we do use are all biodegradeable (laundry detergent, dish soap, shampoo)

    • as long as our vehicles are efficient, we will drive them and repair them until they are done. (no matter how un-sexy they are)

    But I have days when I feel I could do more



    • I know we could buy still less (for me, it is all about the wanting, I do want stuff)

    • I want my children to understand the value of the THING (but I want them to be children and enjoy what it is like to desire something and enjoy it once you have it) this is tricky

    And how to get the few things that really do matter?



    • because no matter how important it is to reduce our wants, we still WANT and there are some things which make life better in many ways (beehives, scythes, maple sap buckets, cameras, etc).This is all in the heart of the person who desires the THING; it may be about sustainability or joyfullness or peace of mind.

    • And these things cost money, we cannot always barter for everything and we still need money for taxes and insurance, etc

    • so, how to get it (the money?)

    We could work more but



    • we want to be together, that is the most important thing.

    • at what cost? paying more taxes is an expense that comes with working more

    • we want to spend our time living and making the most of what we have, not working our lives away

    • we want the kids to see work as joyful and that we do what we love (for me it is books and photography, for Trevor it is Herpetology).  I want my children to have the lives they want without thinking misery is part of the equation.

    So, what is next?



    • I am not sure.  However, I think about this all the time and am always looking for ways to adjust and live more cleanly.

    Do you have ideas?


    I’d love to hear them…

  • (protected)


    Bits O’ Blog


    (now with more crunchy goodness than ever)



    In home improvement news we are restoring another room in the barn for the rest of the book store, we have already renovated a smaller room behind it and this will complete the project.


    We have our work cut out for us.


    This part of the house/barn was built about 50 years after the original cape was built and is about 150 years old.  These two rooms used to be a summer kitchen & pantry and the brick hearth is still in place.  The walls are slats with horsehair plaster and in need of some serious help. We are motivated to get it done soon though, as the paint/plaster will cure much better in these temps. And the books (4000 of them) are now in Roo’s room.


    And she has recently realized that she has no room of her own.



    However, she is the owner of yet another hat by Mummy and the distraction should hold her for another few days (or minutes, you just never know)


    Either way, she is pretty stinking cute.


    I love this kid.



    Jesse is cute, too.


    Lest you think his recent foray into the world of fashion is limited to clothing for the male species, here is the most recent acquisition to his “wardrobe”;


    a lovely oversized ladies blouse worn with or without boots.


    Today, he accessorized with a stick, a hankerchief (to hold all his $$, $8.00) and his skateboard.


    I love this kid. 



    Jesse: “mommy! You won’t believe how comfy this is, it’s almost like wearing nothing plus peeing is very, very easy”



    Lastly, something for the adults


    A little Olde Frothingslosh



    and something for the bigger kiddies (and adults because the child in me loves these guys!)


    (don’t let the kids on if you don’t want them hearing the word poop, etc)


    Homestar Runner



    I’m off to submerge myself in drywall mud, I’ve heard it’s great for the skin…


     


     

  •                 


        Bees, Food & Anniversaries!


    *******


    Bees


    My dear husband gave me just what I wanted for my birthday; a beehive and a smoker.  We shall start with the one hive and pick up a second when we can afford it.  I know a local beekeeper who will set us up with a nucleus in the spring.  Between honey and maple syrup, our sugarbuds will be thrilled.


    Food


    Today I made 6 batchs of salsa to freeze, 15 meals of pesto and a few batches of red chili sauce. The freezer is now officially bursting and yet I always manage to find another little crevice when searching. 


    It’s a gift, really.


     I love tabblo!!!! (try it, you will love it too)



     



    See my Tabblo>


    In photo news I have two more clients who want portraits done this month, wahoo!


    An anniversary


    I called one of my dearest and oldest friends last night to wish her a happy anniversary; we met 20 years ago this month and I have cherished her friendship always.  I wondered why we don’t celebrate these milestones with our friends and she agreed.  As she lives 6 hours away, we will plan something fun to do in the next month or so to celebrate this. I imagine chocolate, wine and great conversation will be included (they always are).


    Why not? There is little in life more important than friendship.


    ~~~~~~~


    I’m off, Roo is begging for bed (no, I am not kidding).


    And it is only 6:26 pm.


    I believe it is easy for her because it is up to her.